Monday, February 2, 2009


HALAL (حلال, ḥalāl, halaal) - an Arabic term meaning "permissible." In the English language, it most frequently refers to food that is permissible according to Islamic law. In the Arabic language, it refers to anything that is permissible under Islam. The term halal is often inaccurately used as a synonym for zabihah (ذبيحة) — the prescribed method of ritual slaughter of all allowable animals (excluding fish and most sea-life) per Islamic law.

Getting a consensus on what is halal, especially with regards to meats, is one of the biggest challenges that diverse Muslim communities in America and the West face. While there are differences in practice between different groups, most Muslims agree that "halal is clear and haram is clear."

SPOTLIGHT HALAL provides Muslims with practical Information about food from an Islamic perspective. We don't say this food is haram or halal; We say this food contains alcohol and pork or that food is made with chicken. Our flexible approach lets you make informed food decisions, whether or not you observe zabiha.

AMNA's Criteria for HALAL:
The table below describes our criteria for judging a FOOD as HALAL or as HALAL(?). Helpful icons make it easy to judge foods at a glance.
HALAL FOODS that are ALWAYS halal.
They do not contain meat or meat products.
They do not contain haram substances.
tobiko (飛び子, Japanese), tom yum pla (Thai), taramosalata (Greek), streusel (German), red snapper
HALAL(?) FOODS made with meat or other product derived from a halal animal that may not have been zabiha slaughterd.
Cheeses prepared using animal rennet.
tekka maki (鉄火巻き, Japanese), arroz español (Spanish); venison, suet, soto ayam (Thai);
scamorza cheese (Italian), American cheese.

Related Topics:
List of halal animals
What are the food import regulations for countries like Saudi Arabia?
What's the difference between kosher and halal?